Household Goods To Knit

250b889b-4a39-43df-b640-60f2676677c7_1

 

There are many different types of making things made from cloth. In earlier times, wool was dyed, and spun. This is where the term ”spinster” came from. To make towels, blankets, clothes, cloths, blankets and more, people can loom, knit, crochet or sew.

Modern inventions such as the sewing machine has made sewing much faster and easier. However, some people like to stick to tradition and make something with their own two hands and ten fingers doing the old-fashioned work. It’s also much less costly than a sewing machine. For those people, knitting or crocheting is perfect. The needles can be found at any craft, cloth or warehouse store, and so can the yarn.

Personally, I prefer knitting. I was taught at the tender age of seven years old by my grandmother. To this day, she still knits, quilts and sews. I remember the first thing I made, a little blanket for one of my stuffed animals. As time went on and I kept practicing, I was able to move on to wristbands, scarves, and even made baby blankets, headbands and slippers. I have crocheted before, but I am not very good at it. I am so used to knitting that I can do it with my eyes shut, so I prefer to stick to knitting.

For the homemaker, housewife or stay-at-home-mom, knitting can be more than just a hobby. Our grandmothers used to sew, knit and crochet clothes, accessories and household items by hand. Here is a list of household goods you can knit with your own two needles and ball of yarn, for beginners or intermediate knitters!

  • Blankets
  • Throws
  • Scarves
  • Mittens
  • Socks
  • Slippers
  • Dishcloths
  • Hand towels
  • Coasters
  • Hot pads
  • Washcloths
  • Pot holders
  • Cushio covers
  • Headbands
  • Chair pads
  • Rugs
  • Knit baskets
  • Table runners
  • Swiffer covers
  • Face scrubbers
  • Eco sponges
  • Soap sachets
  • Bottle holders
  • Mug cozies
  • Tea cozies
  • Chair socks
  • Baby booties

For more advances knitters, here are some more options you can enjoy. There are lots of free patterns available online that are just a search-engine enquiry away!

  • Sweaters
  • Thermals
  • Gloves
  • Dog sweaters
  • Dog booties
  • Handbags
  • Backbacks
  • Change purse
  • Phone cover
  • Baby blanket

Have any more ideas you’d like to share? Comment below!

Leave a comment